Foodie Friday: Isdaan, Calauan, Laguna

In one of my With Jerome posts, I mentioned that we had lunch here. We were in the middle of our Visita Iglesia, and very hungry. I don’t know if my parents planned this, but we got to eat here, and it was quite an experience.

Isdaan entrance

This was the entrance. We were greeted by two men in stilts, and a robot girl(?). I think the robot girl only moves when you give her money. Haha. Well someone gave her money, and she robot-danced.

Isdaan restaurant

Near the waiting area

A lot of people eat here, so they have a waiting area where customers wait to be seated. The waiting area is also where the store is located, so that customers could browse around for pasalubong while they wait. Clever!

There are a lot of interesting statues. These were the ones fronting the little cottage where we were placed. I like how some of the cottages were very private, and away from the crowd watching the magic show in the middle of the restaurant. The only bad thing about being in the private area, is that it’s hard to get the waiters’ attention.

The restaurant is surrounded by water, since it’s a floating restaurant. That is why they also give boat rides around the restaurant. There was also free face painting for kids that day. I don’t know if they do it every day.

These three naked ladies were located outside the restroom area. The restroom wasn’t that clean, but I think they really try to maintain it. There were just a lot of people that day, since it was the Holy Week.

Now for the food.

Bagong Saing Rice

I don’t usually post rice in my Foodie Fridays, but this one came in a cute baby kaldero. Haha! :P The baby kaldero was good for two people, but since my sister and I only eat a little bit of rice, Jerome finished the rest. :P My parents had one for the two of them, and they weren’t able to finish it.

Isdaan Calamares

I didn’t try this. My sister ordered it, and she was really disappointed. She said that the breading was good and crunchy, but the squid was hard to chew. Don’t you just hate chewy squid?

Inihaw na Hito (Catfish)

This was the hit with the family. They loved it, especially Jerome! :P

Steamed Talong (Eggplant)

Jerome loves talong! He was just disappointed that there were pork bits in it. It was Holy Friday, and we weren’t supposed to eat meat. He just picked the eggplant from it, but he still wasn’t happy.

Sinigang na Hipon

This is my favorite dish out of the bunch. Nomnomnom. I love shrimp, and I love it in sinigang! It had the right mixture of spicy and sour! Perfect sinigang!

Melon Juice

For drinks, we had a pitcher of melon juice. It was okay. I didn’t like it that much. I’d rather have bottled water.

Now for my favorite part of the restaurant!

Tacsiyapo Wall

The Tacsiyapo Wall is a place to release your anger. Haha! You buy the plates, and throw it where you want to. The wall has writings like “ex-wife”, “taksil”, “professors”, and other people you might be angry at. Prices for the plates differ. I think the cheapest plate was 20 Php, and those were the ones we got to throw. Jerome and I did this together. My family already went to the parking lot, and they didn’t even notice the wall. If you’re too angry to care for the price, you can even throw a little TV for 1,800 Php! Hahaha! Tacsiyapo is a swear word. I don’t even know what it means, but upon Google-ing it, they say it’s Buwiset, or just simple “shame on you”. Would “shame on you” make you break plates? I think it should’ve been “FUCK YOU BITCHES”, or something really harsh. Haha!

Overall, I enjoyed the food. The service was mediocre, but the whole place has a lot more to offer than food. They have entertainers, boat rides, face painting, and other cool stuff for the whole family. I think it’s a fun experience for people looking for a nice place to take their family.

Hope you enjoyed my second Foodie Friday out of Manila! Click here to view the other Foodie Fridays!

Love,
Thea

Random Rants:

  • I guess today’s Jerome’s Day 1 on the field. I already miss him. We get to text, though.
  • I always get sad that I don’t even get a quarter of my views here, on my beauty blog. Jerome reminded me that I only started that blog. Haha! I think that blog’s just a little more than a month old. Belated happy monthsary, Beauty Rants by Thea! :P I just get impatient sometimes. This blog isn’t even a year old. :P That’s why I often post a link of my beauty blog here. And look, here it is again! Click here for Beauty Rants by Thea! :)
  • Summer has just started, but I don’t think my parents have plans for another summer getaway.
  • Jerome’s vacation was the highlight of my summer, maybe even my whole year. :)
  • Jerome just started playing Draw Something. He needs new playmates! He’s jer00me on it the two o’s are zeros.

4 responses to “Foodie Friday: Isdaan, Calauan, Laguna

  1. I had to laugh about your comment concerning “The Wall.” Lol!

    Isdaan appears to be a very unique and interesting restaurant. I am sure it was fun.

    Catfish is one of my favorite fish. Deep fried is best but grilled is alright, too. Nice foodie photos! We had simple pork adobo and rice today for lunch but it was very good. The Negrense version has less soy sauce than the Luzon version but I like soy sauce.

    I also don’t like “rubber band” squid.

    Have a great weekend!

    • I think some people call Isdaan a resto-park, since it’s more than a restaurant. Inihaw na Hito is really good, especially with soy sauce and calamansi!

      As always, thanks for the comment! Have a great weekend, too! :)

Leave a Reply

