Catching Up: Random Jumbles

It has been about 2 months since my last post. I’ve really been busy because the first semester just ended. I’m not going to say that I survived it just yet, I’m still waiting for one exam result. Please pray with me for this one!

Anyway, I don’t really have anything interesting to blog about. My med life isn’t an interesting one. However, being a sheltered, semi-spoiled(?) girl that I am, I can say that I learned a lot from my first semester. Most of the things I learned were from living alone, and away from my family.

Damn! It has been so long that I don’t know how to write anymore. The only time we are forced to write in medicine, are for the crappy reaction papers we have to submit for the minor subjects. Haha!

I don’t know how to update my readers in an orderly fashion, so I’m just going to do what I always do, rant randomly.

Since my last entry was in August, I thought I’d start with that month.

August was my mom’s birthday month. I made it a point to come home that weekend to be able to celebrate it with her.

Here are crappy-quality pictures from my sister’s iPhone.

I love musicals so much! I loved The Phantom of the Opera movie, and I’m so happy to be able to watch the play.

I even got a souvenir! :)

For September, I think the major event was the Med Night. It is that night when med students are forced to have fun and party. Haha! It was up to us if we wanted to go to the party, but we had to pay for it whether we’re going or not. Might as well go, right? Since most of my classmates were bringing their boyfriends/girlfriends, I thought I’d bring friends and invited my closest friends to come with me. Majority of them were busy with school (med school)/work, Audi was the only one available.

Hanging out in the ladies’ room (watching drunk girls throw up, and other fun stuff).

Speaking of boyfriends…

Jerome and I are still on the journey to our happily ever after. I don’t know if I already mentioned that he’s back in Texas, but yeah, he is. We still talk a lot on Skype. When we’re too busy, we just Viber. I love it when he sends me pictures, whether it’s of himself or what he’s doing.

What he looks like on a normal day at work

Aaaand of course, I send him pictures too.

What I look like on a normal day at school. Sorry for scaring you. Haha

This is the closest you’re gonna get to a picture of us together in our uniforms. Plus we can clearly see that Jerome’s front camera has better quality than mine. Unless he used the main camera. Haha! That’s Samsung Galaxy S3 vs. iPhone 4 for you!

Med school made me gain weight. I don’t know how, but it just did. Or maybe i know how…

Baby Back Ribs and Pink Lollipop (drink)

Food from Read and Brew. This is not a typical meal for me. If it were, I won’t be able to save. I remember getting this because I was sad. I needed something to cheer me up, and this meal did just that. I guess I’m gaining weight  because I’m almost always sad from med stress and being away from my loved ones. Haha!

By the way, my typical meal if you’re wondering, is canned corned tuna mixed with ten-peso rice. ;)

One tipid trick is ordering the two piece Chicken Joy meal from Jollibee. I split the rice in half, and eat one piece of chicken with half rice, and save the other half for my next meal. Haha! Before you start thinking that my parents are leaving me to starve, I’m going to tell you that they give me enough money for food! I’m just saving for our Hong Kong trip this month.

I’m enjoying my break so far. Especially that I’m home right now. I’m home to my Rayka, and to my mom that cooks free food! I’m home to free internet! I’m home to a place with TV! I sleep for more than four hours!! Even if I brought the stress of worrying about my grades home, there are still a lot to be thankful for.

I am also reading a non-med book!

This book is by a stand-up comedian named HogWild. I’m still on my first few pages, and I’m already enjoying it! I’m going to talk about it more when I finish reading it. If you want to read it with me, it’s available on Kindle (click here). I plan to read as many non-med books as I can this semestral break!

That’s it for my update in the form of random ranting!

I’m sorry for not being able to respond to comments right away. Rest assured, I read and reply to each one! I’m happy that I still receive comments and e-mails, even when I haven’t written regularly for months.

Hope you enjoyed this entry! I will write more during the break, just as soon as I have something to write about! :)

Love,
Thea

2 responses to “Catching Up: Random Jumbles

  1. Thank you for the update! It sounds like you are having fun now. All study and no play makes a person dull, in my opinion. I received my last diploma in Criminal Justice and Police Science when I was age 42. I am proud to say that I graduated Number 1 in my class and I was the second oldest student. I studied hard but I also played hard. Although, not too hard, lol. A nice balance.

    ~ Gary ~

    • Thanks! I don’t really get to “play” that much since I started school. It always felt like every minute should be spent for studying. I always feel guilty whenever I eat lunch for more than 30 minutes, browse the net for something not related to school, and sleep for more than 4 hours! It’s craaazy!

Leave a Reply

