On Quitting

Less that a month until I go back to school, and I haven’t written a single entry. When I entered med school, I was pretty determined to keep on writing entries for this blog and my beauty blog. I even had plans for my next few entries. However, I found that the urge to write here lessened and lessened. First it was because I chose to do other things during my free time. Med school is pretty demanding, and being an average student (or maybe lower), I had to work harder than my overachieving classmates. Med school taught me a lot, but also made me feel small and insignificant. Studying took most of my time.

When I’m not studying, it almost feels like my brain doesn’t want to think of anything else. So, I spend my free time sleeping (which became my favorite thing to do since I started med school), or just watching vlogs, and catching up on episodes of my favorite series. Watching series and movies on my laptop have been my favorite ways to de-stress, since they’re easily accessible.

Needless to say, blogging is not even on the top 15 things I would do when I’m not studying, even though it used to be on the top 5 things I loved doing. Blogging came after playing with my dog, spending time with family, watching movies, sleeping, eating, and many other things.

That is why I’m thinking of not blogging anymore. :( It saddens me when people ask me what happened to Foodie Fridays, or when I’m going to make a new post because they’ve been waiting long. I realized I’ve been continuously disappointing my friends and readers. :( During the Christmas break I was planning to write about my first trip to Hong Kong, but the second trip took most of my time.

During my second trip, I took pictures of food, planning to make Foodie Fridays out of them, but I never did. I even committed to writing reviews for some authors and a known online store, which I never got to do. :( I feel really bad for disappointing a lot of people. It was like giving false hope to you all, and I really regret doing that.

Bottom line is I want to stop writing so that I don’t  disappoint anymore. Does that even make sense? I know I’ll disappoint you for not writing anymore, but at least I’m not giving you false hope…. ?

 

To the people who continue to comment and subscribe to this blog, I apologize and thank you all. I still reply to comments, though. And your comments still make me happy.

To the people who have been waiting, I’m really, really, sorry.

2 responses to “On Quitting

  1. Hi Thea,

    I appreciate your honesty! If I were your age and in Med School, that would be my priority, as I would be focused on my career. Your blog and a hand full of others were the first ones I followed on Word Press in February, 2012. I still only follow a hand full of blogs. However, your blog and a few others inspired me to keep my blog going on Word Press and I have 79 posts thus far. Since that time, my blog has been a vehicle for me to do other things.

    I was asked to write an e-book, Retiring to the Philippines, which I did and it is on Amazon and selling. I was also asked to join an online expat magazine by the same name and write articles about the Philippines and I am still doing it, with 2-4 new articles every week.

    I am sorry to see you go but I fully understand and I wish you the all the very best in your studies and in your life. As for me, I am just getting started with writing but I am much older than you and I am starting a new career as a writer. I have 3 university degrees, so no more studies for me! I worked 37 years with *real* jobs and I had enough of those. Writing allows me to do something that I really enjoy without a boss to disagree with and set my own schedule each and every day.

    My post is not to promote me but to share that your blog was a big part of my desire to make my blog better and keep at it. Furthermore, it lead to things happening for me that I had only dreamed about and wished for in the past. A real writing gig. I learned a lot from your Foodie Fridays posts!

    Take care and many wonderful blessings to you, your family and friends.

    Best Wishes!

    ~ Gary ~

  2. Hi Thea!

    Don’t feel too bad about not being able to write as often. Your time in med school is currently a lot more important. We’re sure that you’ll be able to balance everything eventually and start writing again in the future (if it’s still something you enjoy).

    We’ll always be glad to have you back in the blogosphere once you feel you’re ready again. :) Til then, good luck on your med school and try to enjoy every step of the way! :)

    xoxo,
    moxy from Have at You!

Leave a Reply

